Hummus goes Moroccan

An afternoon spent replenishing all my condiments and dips. This is one of my favourites. Think hummus but with a Moroccan kick. I had this in a restaurant a few years ago and was told it was called Bessara. Made using fava beans and a little thinner than hummus it can also be thinned further to make a soup. I’ve sort of put my own Louise slant to it so feel free to do the same.

hum 4hum 2

Into a blender pop the following:
1 can of fava beans drained
Generous glug of olive oil
enough that you cover the beans
2 cloves of garlic
Juice of 1/2 a lime
Salt (I used a lovely smoked salt I had)
Pepper
Ground cumin
Smoked paprika and pinch of cayenne.
Blitz until smooth and creamy enough that it will pour from your blender with a little help.
Play around with quantities of
seasonings to suit your palate.

hum 3

Grab some chunky bread or veg sticks and get dipping

Love

Louise

Leave a Reply

