The most decadent vegan mash and gravy in town

Now I love my mash. Love, love, love my mash. I would pick it over dessert any day. It’s true A few weeks ago I read an article discussing how to make the perfect mash and my oh my were they spot on. So here it is veganized (not a real word) Please note that this is indulgent as hell, laden with calories and isn’t your budget potato dish however life is short so eat the pricey mash I say.

For the mash:

Peel and cube potatoes. The smaller the better. I used three large potatoes for

this dish.

Into a pot and cover with tinned

coconut milk and unsweetened almond milk. Yes you read right 😂. You can use all coconut milk here too if you want to go all out.

Bring to the boil, reduce to a simmer and leave to cook through.

Once cooked through get mashing.

No draining required just use the existing liquid.

Season with salt/pep, herbs of choice (I used rosemary and thyme here and I grated optional shavings galore of violife vegan parmesan.)

The best you’ll ever make! For an extra bit of boldness add a pour of melted

vegan spread. Eek!

For the mushrooms:

Marinade your portobello mushrooms in a mix of soy sauce, garlic, thyme, sweet chilli sauce, garlic and lemon juice.

Remove from the marinade and into the oven at 200c for approx 30 min. Every 10 min or so add a little more of the leftover marinade to the mushroom and flip at intervals.

Remove and slice or leave whole.

I added a little boiling water to the remains of the sticky marinade in the oven dish to make a gravy but this is optional. I poured this into a pan and heated through adding a little cornflour to thicken. A spoonful of mustard for a nice complimentary kick and a shake of ballyhoura mushrooms porcini dust to bring out the mushroom vibes. It makes for a fab gravy.

Serve up whatever way suits you best.

I made smaller portions for this dish as it’s just the two of us so the quantities above would make enough for a generous dish for two with some leftover gravy.

❤️

Louise

Leave a comment