It’s bananas!

I estimate that in all the years I’ve been posting recipes I’ve had no more than a handful of sweet treats in the mix. I’m definitely of the savoury persuasion. Pass me a bowl of mash and I’m overcome with joy. That being said this loaf makes a regular weekend brunch appearance. It’s my foolproof take on a banana bread.

Insta is inundated with b bread recipes so I was unsure if mine was worthy to be in the fold given my amateur baking status. I think the measurements panic me. Too many variables for messing it up but I’m keen to get better. I put this out to vote on my stories last night and it came back with a win. Thank goodness! I had never used the poll option on stories. Jeez Louise it sparked an irrational nervousness in me. I felt like I was in the Eurovision awaiting my points. Hope you like the recipe and let me know if you try it. I’ve devoured a few slices this morning slathered in peanut butter and homemade jam, imbibed two coffees and I’m pretty much twitching here right now as I type so it’s time to run this excess caffeine and sugar induced surge out of me.

250g porridge oats

125g vegan butter

40g coconut sugar or sugar of choice

4 bananas (3 for the mix, 1 for decoration on top)

200ml tinned coconut milk

2 large tbls of peanut butter

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

Pinch of cinnamon

A handful of nuts or seeds of choice. I added pumpkin and sunflower here but walnuts or pecans after delicious here too

Combine all ingredients in a blender

Spoon into a lined loaf tin and top with remaining banana

40-45 min at 180c

Omit the sugar if you want a “more bread less cake” loaf

I prefer a moist banana bread but if you’d rather it a little crumblier just half the coconut milk quantity

It is lovely as is but if you’re having cake why not go all in and add a topping. Peanut butter and jam were my choices today but I’ve often added vegan cream cheese and maple syrup or v choc spread.

Wishing you a wonderful day

Love

Louise

X

2 thoughts on “It’s bananas!

Leave a comment