Delectable vegan tagine

I never stray too far away from one pot wonders during the hibernation months. Minimal effort, hearty, flavorsome and always better the following day. I whipped up a veg tagine of sorts yesterday. Well Louises take on a tagine. A tagine for those who don’t know is actually the clay pot that the dish is cooked in, traditional recipes vary from region to region so this is very much my own concoction. The ingredients list looks busy but what I always say when it comes to v cooking is fill your spice rack and let it do all the hard work.

Into a pot I placed:

1 potato, peeled and cubed

1 sweet potato peeled and cubed

2 carrots, thinly sliced

2 red peppers, diced

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 onion, thinly sliced

1 tin of chickpeas, drained

1 tin of chopped tomatoes

500 ml veg stock

For the spices-

You’ll find most of what you need in your local supermarket but for those extra special ones Mr bells in the English market in Cork is just fantastic and has an endless selection. They also have large open sacks of dried beans, rice and lentils so you can refill those staples too.

I always go spice heavy so feel free to feel it out with this dish and add less to begin if you feel it to be overwhelming -2 tbls sumac

2 tbls cumin

2 tbls dried mint

2 tbls coriander

1 tbls fennel seeds

1 tbls ground ginger

1 tbls turmeric

1 tbls ground cardamom

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp smoked paprika

1/2 tsp ground cloves

6 or 7 dried chili’s that I added into the fold but pick them out before eating unless you’re a heat fiend like myself

A squeeze of harissa paste

Drizzle of date syrup or shake of sugar

Salt and pepper

For the cous cous –

1:1 cous to boiling water in a bowl

Cover for 5 min

Voila. I get the extra fine cous cous as I like how light it is and it takes jig time to prepare

Season as you wish 🥰❤️

I added olive oil, salt, lemon juice, parsley and this fab lemon pepper dried seasoning you can pick up in most ethnic food stores.

I finished it off with lots of pistachios, flakes almonds, parsley, chopped dates, olives and rose petals and served them up with lovely warmed flatbreads from Alsham bakery here in Cork .

Love

Louise

One thought on “Delectable vegan tagine

Leave a comment