Back to basics leek and potato soup

It’s rare that I post the simple everyday soups and sambos that I throw together. I was only thinking this week that the questions I get messaged most are … Where do I start if I want to go vegan ? How do I step away from dairy and still have tasty dishes ? And… I’ve got dinner covered but what about easy lunch options ?

So I’m going to try and focus on just super duper simple dishes a little more on here and bring it back to basics. I love experimenting as you all know but my DMs are asking me to pear it back (see what I did there .. 🍐😂) I know I know. Stop Louise. This soup is as easy it comes. A leek and potato from last week. There’s only two of us but I normally make enough to cover two days and then freeze the rest for a rainy day.

2 large leeks, roughly chopped

1 onion, roughly chopped

4 cloves of minced garlic (less if desired. I always double up in Winter)

4 large potatoes, peeled and cubed

1 x tin of coconut milk

1 litre of vegetable stock

Vegan butter

Vegan Parmesan (optional)

Salt and pepper

Parsley

Pumpkin seeds

In a heated pan melt your vegan butter and sauté the leeks, onion and garlic until golden brown

Transfer to a pot and add your veg stock and potatoes

Bring to the boil, reduce to a gentle simmer, cover and leave for 20 minutes

Stir through your tin of coconut milk. If you would rather omit this you can add soy cream or oat milk works great here too. I can’t resist the coconut creaminess

Blend to a smooth consistency with a hand blender

Season liberally with salt and pepper and a generous grating of a vegan cheese of choice. I love vegan parmesan here

Serve up with a sprinkle of toasted pumpkin seeds and fresh parsley.

A chunk of crusty baguette slathered in vegan butter for mopping up residual soup never went astray either

Would love to hear what you think about me posting more back to basics dishes? Would you find this helpful and if so is there anything you’d really like me to make or dishes you are struggling with. I’m doing this so many years now that I forget there are new followers and vegans all the time that are just starting out.

Love

Louise

Leave a comment