Savoury spelt pancakes with a creamy mushroom stuffing

There’s something so comforting about pancakes and with a batter that take two minutes it’s all the better. I always use this recipe (equal measure flour and plant milk) and just switch it up with vanilla, agave etc if I’m making a sweet batch.

Pancake mix:

1 cup spelt flour

1 cup almond milk

Sprinkle of onion and or garlic powder

Pinch of salt

Chilli flakes

Dried parsley

Blitz in the nutri bullet

(Always a nicer consistency the next day)

Pancake filling :

A bunch of green onions roughly chopped. I would normally use leeks here but had green onion that needed to be used up.

A punnet of mushrooms

Smoked tofu slices (optional I just had some leftover in the fridge)

Sautéed the mix in coconut oil, add a generous pour of tinned coconut milk minced garlic, salt and pep.

I tucked the mushroom, tofu mix inside the pancake and top with my favourite Rebel Chilli sauce mmmmmm, a scoop of vegan pesto and finished with coconut flakes, pumpkin seeds, blueberries and goji berries for a little sweetness and colour. Odd combo I know but it works so well.

❤️

Louise

Leave a comment